September 5, 2018, by Lisa Chin

Winners announced in UNM 2018 3MT® Competition

We are pleased to announce the winners of UNM 2018 Three Minute Thesis Competition (3MT®). The full results are:


Anusha Devi Nawoor, School of Biomedical Sciences, Faculty of Science

Title: The future – Personalised medicine!

Anusha [right] accepting the award from one of the judges, Mr Julian Matthews.

Runner Up

Yap Jing Ying, Department of Chemical & Environmental Engineering, Faculty of Engineering

Title: Papaya leaf for dengue?

Jing Ying [right] accepting the award from Professor Deborah Hall.

2nd Runner Up

Denesh A/L Sooriamoorthy, Department of Electrical & Electronic Engineering, Faculty of Engineering

Title: A tick in time saves lives

Denesh [right] accepting the award from Professor Deborah Hall.

First developed by the University of Queensland in 2008, the 3MT® competition challenges research students to communicate the significance of their projects to a non-specialist audience in just three minutes.

The UNM 3MT® competition was held on 5 September 2018 and a total of 8 contestants from various disciplines took part in this year’s competition.

Anusha will now progress to the video round to compete against the other Nottingham campuses. The overall winner will represent the entire University of Nottingham at the Universitas 21 (U21) Final, also via video, which will be judged by an international panel of industry and academic professionals.

More information about this competition will be posted soon. So stay tuned!

Featured image: [From left] Yap Jing Ying, Anusha Devi Nawoor and Denesh A/L Sooriamoorthy. 

Posted in News and EventsResearcher Development