May 24, 2023, by Lisa Chin

Winners announced for Tri Campus Awards 2023

Recognising exceptional contributions & celebrating extraordinary accomplishments 

Our annual Tri Campus Awards are an opportunity for us all to come together to recognise and celebrate colleagues who have made exceptional contributions to our researcher community.

At University of Nottingham Malaysia (UNM), these prestigious awards celebrate outstanding postgraduate researchers, research teams and research supervisors.

This year the awards ceremony took place on 17 May 2023 and was streamed live. The ceremony brought together all the award winners from across the three Nottingham campuses.

In his congratulatory and closing remarks, Professor Christopher Gibbins, Interim Vice Provost for Research and Knowledge Exchange said, “It goes without saying that research is fundamental and an important part in what we do as a university. And so it is only right, and of course with great pleasure, that we appreciate and recognise your contributions to the University through these awards. It is great and entirely appropriate that the awards are not just for postgraduate students, but also to research teams and supervisors. On behalf of the University, I would like to congratulate and thank you for your contributions to the University.”

We are delighted to announce our 2023 award winners:

Public Engagement with Research – Emerging Star and Best Initiative Award 

This award recognises doctoral researcher or team of doctoral researchers who have engaged public audience with research to generate mutual benefit. Public engagement activity can range from outreach activities to patient involvement, citizen science and collaborative research projects.​​​​​​​

    • Dr Then Sue-Mian and her multidisciplinary team,
      Division of Biomedical Sciences

Postgraduate Assistant Award

This award recognises and celebrates postgraduate researcher who has shown examples of innovative support of learning within the last two years.

    • Tee Wan Ting,
      Department of Chemical and Environmental Engineering

Postgraduate Research Award for Outstanding Contribution to the Research Community 

This award recognises postgraduate researcher who has made exceptional, non-traditional contributions which would not be readily captured by other mechanisms and which might otherwise go unseen, to the University’s research community during the period of January to December 2022.​​​​​​​

    • Chia Wen Yi,
      Department of Chemical and Environmental Engineering

Team Award for Commitment to Enhancing the Research Culture and Environment 

This award recognises team of researchers who have demonstrated a commitment to developing and enhancing positive research culture and environment during the 2022 calendar year.

    • Dr Karma Tashi Choedron and team,
      School of Politics, History and International Relations

Postgraduate Award 

This award recognises accomplishments in research, publications, conferences as well as contributions to the postgraduate community.

    • Lim Hooi Ren,
      Department of Chemical and Environmental Engineering

    • Paulina Tan Pei Suu,
      Division of Biomedical Sciences

    • Ho Keat Lam,
      School of Biosciences

Outstanding Research Supervisor Award 

This award recognises outstanding research supervisors who have created a supportive, stimulating and inspirational research environment for doctoral students.

    • Dr New Siu Yee,
      School of Pharmacy

    • Professor Steve Janssen,
      School of Psychology

    • Dr Chong Chien Hwa,
      Department of Chemical and Environmental Engineering 

A shout-out to all winners

We at the Graduate School would like to once again congratulate all award winners for their remarkable achievements!

For more information, email to You can also engage with us via Facebook and Graduate School Blog.

Posted in News and EventsPostgraduate lifeResearcher Development