September 21, 2021, by Mei Kee Lee

6th Annual Pharm/Biomed Postgraduate Research Symposium

The Pharm/Biomed Postgraduate Research Symposium is an annual event organized by the University of Nottingham Malaysia (UNM) School of Pharmacy. This year marked the 6th annual postgraduate symposium, and it was held on the 26th of August 2021 in collaboration with Srinakharinwirot University, Thailand (SWU). Due to the on-going Covid-19 pandemic, the symposium was held online through Microsoft Teams. We had a total of 100 participants, 50 participants for UNM and SWU, respectively. The theme for this year’s symposium was ‘Innovating Science: Evolution to Revolution’.

The symposium was comprised of oral presentations and poster presentations, which served as a platform for all presenters to showcase their research findings and gain valuable feedback from the judges. Oral presentations were delivered by students from both UNM and SWU, while poster presentations were delivered solely by students from UNM. This year, we had a variety of topics ranging from diet and self-care behaviour to herb-drug reactions and cancer treatments.

It was a pleasure to have Dr Fang Chee Mun (UNM), Dr Mohammed Tahir Ansari (UNM), Dr Ng Zhi Xiang (UNM), Dr Ajit Singh (UNM), Dr Yap Fei Ling (UNM), Dr Georgina Elizabeth Marsh (UNM), Dr Amarin Narkwichean (SWU) and Dr Ramida Watanapokasin (SWU) as our panel judges.

Professor Susan Anderson from the UK campus was invited as the keynote speaker for the symposium, and she presented her work titled “Beyond Research: Public Engagement and Why It Is Important”. Professor Susan shared her experience and recommendations for the audience to take a step further in their career.

Academics and students from UNM and SWU enjoyed the networking opportunities and were able to gain new insights and knowledge from each presentation and fellow researchers. I would like to thank the organizing committee members, the keynote speaker, panel judges, academics and postgraduate students for attending the symposium and making it a success. Here is the winner list:

Oral category:
o Mak Yin Ying
o Wong Zheng Wei
o Athicha Kittiwattanokhun
o Leong Chia Choong

Poster Category:
o Ho Jinn Shyuan, Jessica Ooi Sui Ying, Paulina Tan Pei Suu, Pang Li Yin, Azrina Ely Ahmad Azhari

Group photo of the participants (apologies to the rest who didn’t fit into the screen!)

Article written by Lamia Noushin Sadeque Chowdhury (MPhil Year 1).

Posted in Postgraduate